carolspage

July 31, 2011

I ride on my own!!

I received an email from Ged at Edinburgh Bicycle Cooperative telling me that the bike was ready for collection – woohoo! We went on Friday to collect the bike and once again the staff were helpful and encouraging.

I took the bike out for a spin for the first time today and what a difference it makes, being able to keep my feet on the ground!  We went around the way to a cycle path and I was able to start riding, WITHOUT anyone holding on, right away. What fun!

My husband said he thought I’d found my inner 7 year old – that’s about how old I felt.

I could pedal on my own! Wheeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Just so you know – the ‘vroom-vroom’ sound you hear is a motorcycle travelling on the nearby road, it is not me breaking the sound barrier on my bike!)

 

2 Comments »

  1. Hi from a fellow cycling newbie! I found you via the Cycletta Facebook page. I’ll be doing Cycletta North and very nervous already. Will look forward to reading your updates! 🙂

    Comment by shauna — August 3, 2011 @ 13:25 |Reply

    • Hi Shauna!

      Welcome to ‘Can-I-Really-Ride-That-Far’ Central! [grin]

      Not to worry – there are, I think, more than a few of us who are either just starting out with a bike, or coming back to it after [number deleted] years. At this rate, I think we’ll have a fine old time at the back of the pack!

      Where are you based?

      Please come back and let me know how you’re getting on!

      Carol

      Comment by carolspage — August 3, 2011 @ 13:44 |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

